Safer Drivers Course

The Safer Drivers Course is a very important step that young learner drivers can take to further ensure they have the best possible training before becoming a Provisional Licence holder. The Safer Drivers Course is conducted throughout NSW, and Behind The Wheel Driver Education is an accredited provider of the course in the Central Coast, Cessnock, Dungog, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Mid Coast, Muswellbrook, Newcastle, Port Stephens, Singleton and the Upper Hunter Local Government areas of NSW.

NSW Learner drivers aged between 16 and 25 are eligible to attend the course, once they have completed a minimum of 50 hours of actual driving recorded in their Logbook (this must not include any hours accredited from professional structured driving lessons under the 3 for 1 scheme) and is preferred, but not essential, to include some night time hours as part of the 50 hour requirement.

The course cost is $140 inclusive of GST. Attendance at the Safer Drivers Course and completion of both Module 1 and 2 of the course will give the Learner driver an additional 20 hours of Logbook hour credits.

The RMS have approved 1000 places on the Safer Drivers Course for free, to Disadvantaged Learner Drivers. To qualify for a free place on a Safer Drivers Course you will require a valid Learner licence, be under 25 years of age, have completed at least 50 hours of recorded driving in your Logbook, with some night time driving hours as part of the 50 hours, and you must hold a current Health Care Card or Pensioner Concession Card issued by the Department of Human Services - Centrelink. The Concession card must have the students name as the cardholder. (The parent/guardian cannot be the cardholder). If you qualify for a free place on our Safer Drivers Course, please complete both the Disadvantaged Learner Form and the Registration Form, and email to Behind The Wheel.


Module 1 is a 3 hour facilitated workshop that concentrates on giving the Learner Driver a better understanding of risks when driving and how to manage them to become a safer driver. The course also explores safe driving strategies for when the Learner driver is transitioning to become a Provisional licence holder.

Module 2 is a practical session that allows students, under the guidance of a qualified driving instructor, to practice low risk driving strategies. This module is a 2 hour session that is completed with 2 learner drivers and 1 instructor. Each Learner driver will have 3 different driving opportunities throughout the session and the driving instructor will also drive for 1 session of this Module.

BTW has sourced out some of the best driving instructors in the above mentioned areas, to assist with the delivery of the course. More info will be provided on those instructors, as courses are rolled out in these regional areas.

Our next courses are scheduled as follows:

FORSTER:

Tuesday 16 January
Monday 22 January
Saturday 10 February
Saturday 17 March
Tuesday 17 April
Monday 23 April
Saturday 19 May
Saturday 16 June
Tuesday 10 July
Monday 16 July
Saturday 11 August

TAREE:

Saturday 9 December
Monday 15 January
Tuesday 23 January
Saturday 24 February
Saturday 10 March
Monday 16 April
Tuesday 24 April
Saturday 12 May
Saturday 9 June
Monday 9 July
Tuesday 17 July
Saturday 18 August

WARNERS BAY
Saturday 9 December (3 Positions remaining)
Saturday 6 January

NEWCASTLE
Saturday 30 December
Saturday 13 January

Further courses, in other locations, will be advised in the coming weeks. To confirm your place on a course, please complete the C
ourse application here (Safer Drivers Course Application).



site powered by Media Two Freesites